2016 Climate Fiction Short Story – Win $1000 USD

2016 Climate Fiction Short Story – Win $1000 USD

The Imagination and Climate Futures Initiative and the College for Liberal Arts and Sciences at Arizona State University are proud to announce the 2016 Climate Fiction Short Story Contest. The contest will be judged by science fiction legend Kim Stanley Robinson, award-winning author of many foundational works in climate fiction, along with other climate fiction experts from ASU. The emerging subgenre of climate fiction, epitomized by novels like Margaret Atwood’s Maddaddam Trilogy, helps us imagine possible futures shaped by climate change.

Entries will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Your story should, in some way, envision the future of Earth and humanity as impacted by climate change;
  • Your story should reflect – directly or indirectly – current scientific knowledge about future climate change, without prejudice to your artistic freedom to exaggerate and invent fictional worlds;
  • Your story could illuminate and invite reflections on a climate-related challenge that individuals, communities, organizations or societies face today (e.g., daily decisions and behaviors, policy-making and politics, strategy and planning, moral responsibility to the future, investment in R&D or technologies, health, etc.).


  • The grand-prize winner will be awarded USD 1,000, with three additional finalists receiving book bundles signed by award-winning climate fiction author Paolo Bacigalupi.
  • A collection of the best submissions will be published in a forthcoming online anthology, and considered for publication in the journal Issues in Science and Technology.

Deadline:- 15-01-2016

[sociallocker id=1063]Take this challenge[/sociallocker]