Closed/Expired: Peter Porter Poetry writing prize competition

Peter Porter Poetry writing prize competition

The contest is organised by Australian Book Review .

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – now open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010). The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter’s death.

Entries must be a single poem of no more than 75 lines, written in English.

Entries should not be on offer to other publications or prizes or anthologies for the duration of the Porter Prize. Previously published, shortlisted, prize-winning or broadcast poems will not be accepted.

The 2017 judges are Ali Alizadeh, Jill Jones, and Felicity Plunkett.

Entry fees:-
Each entry must be accompanied by an entry fee of AU$20, or AU$15 for current ABR subscribers.

The winner receives $5,000 and shortlisted poets receive $500. All the shortlisted poems are published in the magazine.

Deadline:- 01-12-2016

Take this challenge