Closed/Expired: The Yeovil Literary Prize 2016

The Yeovil Literary Prize 2016

The Yeovil Literary Prize is open to anyone over the age of 16. The contest is organised by the Yeovil Community Arts Association.

There are four categories:

  • Category 1 – Novel
    Requirement: Synopsis and Opening Chapters (combined maximum 15,000 words).
    Judge: Jason Goodwin, distinguished novelist.
  • Category 2 – Short Story
    Requirement : Maximum 2,000 words.
    Judge: Natasha Farrant – literary scout.
  • Category 3 – Poetry
    Requirement: maximum of 40 Lines.
    Judge: Hilary Davies, past Chairman of the Poetry Society.
  • Category 4 – Writing Without Restrictions
    Requirement: You write it – we’ll read it. Details are at end of General Rules.
    Judge: Tony Hawks, renowned author, comedian, radio and television wit.

Entries must be in English.

Entries must be the work of the entrant and must not have been previously published, or self-published, broadcast, or have been accepted for publication.

Entry fees:-
Novel: £11
Short Story: £6
Poetry: £6 one poem; £9 for two; £11 for three
Writing Without Restrictions: £5

Novel: 1st  £1000;   2nd  £250;   3rd  £100
Short Story: 1st  £500;   2nd  £200;   3rd  £100
Poetry: 1st  £500;  2nd  £200;   3rd  £100
Writing Without Restrictions: 1st  £100;   2nd  £50;   3rd  £30

Deadline:- 31-05-2016

Take this challenge